________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Copyrights 2007 S.O &T Communications LLC, All Rights Reserved
www.africanexaminer.com. Click
Here to Contact Webmaster
People & Events
         African Examiner Online...uplifting AFRICA
\
\
Useful Links
Media Links
Fight in the parliament
African Newspapers

You need Java to see this applet.
Visit African Examiner | Blog | Sports | Guest Book
Advertisement
_____________________

Advertisement
_____________________

Sufficient
Travels &
Tours
Chief Segun Shokera
Chairman/CEO
9420 Annapolis Rd. Lanham
#303, MD, 20706 USA
Tel: 240-667-1204            
240-667-1224
*Tickets *Procurement of
Nigerian Passport & Visa
*Transportation *cargo
services
Notorious 419 (Advance Fee Fraud) Syndicates on Rampage
*Hack into Journalist, others  e-mail account
*Send scam mails in their names and e-mail addresses
.
Written by Oludare Fase
Published: March 1, 2008

How will you feel if you receive phone calls from friends telling you that scam mails in your
name and e-mail address are circulating round the internet?  

The thought that will come to your  mind will be  how did the fraudster  know your e-mail
address and password? And how many scam e-mails have gone on the internet  in your  name? And
do you know that some notorious 419 syndicates who specialise in breaking into peoples e-mail
account are now on rampage in Lagos.

A Lagos based journalist (name withheld) was their latest victim. His e-mail address was hacked
into by the syndicates, and fraudulent mails were sent to all e-mail addresses stored in his yahoo
address book.  
The contents of the 419 mail read thus:
Subject: good news Dear friend: We are a discounts
electronics stores. we keep sell a brand of world electronics product and is a price lowest.
Welcome to our website: http://www.traddg.com/ MSN: traddg369@hotmail.com  Email:
traddg369@hotmail.com (the scam mail is deliberately not edited)

    Some of his friends called him to find out more about his
    good news, while some quickly knew something was fishy
    right away. He was immediately alerted and began to redeem
    his image by sending rebuttals to all his friends and news
    contacts urging them to discountenance the scam mails. His
    rebuttal mail says Dearest friends, I'm aware that some 419
    people are using my e-mail to send scam letters in the name
    of traddg.com. Such letters didn't originate from me. I'm a
    journalist.and not a trader. I've reported the website to
    EFCC for further investigation. Pls, beware of 419!!!. Stay
    blessed

When African Examiner visited the website traddg.com, we observed that the site and its
contents are vague. It is funny that the site which claimed to be selling world class Note- Books;
Digital Video, Camcorders, Laptops,  Cameras, Motor bikes, LCD TV, GPS, Mobile Phones and
other sophisticated cutting edge technology of world class brands does not have verifiable
names, operating address and telephone numbers.  

In generally practice, ABOUT US of every authentic website should include incontestable names,
valid contact address, pictures and telephone numbers. However,  traddng.com only said  in its
web page titled ABOUT US,

Our company is a large wholesaler who mainly sells electrical product .such as digital camera、
mobile phone、LCD TV、 Laptops、 Notebooks、Digital Video、Mp4、GPS、and so on. My
web is ,my msn is .We can offer you  high quality products with reasonable price .All items we
list on this website are brand new and original with sealed box.  Our company is famous in
China, We have our own warehouse and stores, we have clients all over the world.the prestige is
excellent.The item is elegant and cheap, being welcome among the people of different walks of
life! If you have some suggestions about our products or our service, please tell us, and we will
accept the suggestions and improve the situation,we will appreciate you very much. we hope we
can cooperate happily in the long run. Our belief: credit comes first, customers are our God.
  
(This copy is unedited ).

In its CONTACT  page the website has the the following incomplete information

Our address:
beijin haidian
Phone: +86-010
e-mail= traddg369@hotmail.com
msn: traddg369@hotmail.com

The site also criminally claimed to be accepting Bank Transfer, Western Union, Pay pal, Visa,
Money Gram as modes of payment.  It is a matter of commonsense that a genuine big
wholesaler of world famous electronics gadgets, based in China will disclose valid information
other tha
n what traddg.com provides.

In probing further, African Examiner uncovered that the site is being hosted in China and its
administrative details are as follow,

Registrant ID:
hc402584551-cn
Registrant Name: xiong zhang
Registrant organization: zhang xiong
Registrant address: bei jing,
Registrant city: bei jing
Registrant phone number +86.01083339640
Registrant phone fax +86.01083339640

In order to get the comment of those operating this alleged 419 website, we sent e-mail to
traddg369@hotmail.com to demand for their own side of the story but nobody reply our mail.

A cross section of Nigerians who spoke to our correspondent lamented the growing trend of
internet scams in the country. They called on EFCC to double its efforts against those
perpetrating the internet fraud.

Beware that 419 tricks come in different disguise. It could be a ‘corrupt’ politician wanting to
transfer millions of dollars abroad and he/she needs a foreign collaborator; Or a dead bank
customers who does not have a next of kin, the 419 kingpin want you to be the deceased next
of kin; It could also be a fraudulent website selling fraudulent products and services; It could be
a fake website urging you to update your bank or credit card information. Their tricks are
inexhaustible as they invent new ones every day.  

Cybercafé are gradually becoming unsafe around the country, the person sitting beside you
might be stealing your information, even the Cybercafé owner may have installed spy cookies or
software that could hew your information and resell it to fraudsters, and immediately they hit
ENTER Button a scam mail in your name and e-mail address is reverberating on the cyber space.

It is quite shameful that despite  government’s efforts at stamping out 419 and other corrupt
practices some buffoons are still bent on tarnishing the country’s image.

Be careful, don't be a victim!!!