W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

APC Reps Primaries: Oba Akiolu’s Son, Seven Incumbents Lose In Lagos

By Ayo Balogun – The son of the Oba of Lagos, Fouad Akiolu was soundly defeated on Sunday in the All Progressive Congress (APC) House of Representatives primaries while seven incumbent House of Representatives members representing Lagos lost the chance to return to the House.

Oba Rilwan Akiolu’s son was defeated by the current Special Adviser to Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola on Youth, Sports and Social Development, Dolapo Badru.

Badru scored 128 votes to emerge winner, while Fouad came fourth, polling 21 votes.

The incumbents members who lost their seats are Deji Jakande in Mushin Federal Constituency 1. He was defeated by the immediate past Chairman of Odi-Olowo Local Council Development Area, Taofeek Adeyemi Alli.

In Ojo, ex-Chairman of Ojo Local Government, Yinka Murisiq Durosinmi defeated the incumbent, Oluwatoyin Suarau by scoring 204 votes as against 93 polled by the incumbent.

In Ifako Ijaye Federal Constituency, another incumbent, Yomi Ogunnusi lost his bid to return to the House as he lost to the former Special Adviser on Education to Governor Fashola, Elijah Olu Adewale.

Likewise, in Apapa Federal Constituency, former Chairman of the local government, Ayodeji Joseph beat incumbent Jimoh Adewale to pick the ticket while in Oshodi-Isolo Federal Constituency 1, incumbent Moroof Akinderu Fatai lost out.

Also, in Surulere Federal Constituency 2, immediate past Chairman of Itire-Ikate LCDA, Hakeem Adisa Bamgbala beat incumbent Aliu Kazeem with 12 votes.

In Agege Federal Constituency, another incumbent, Samuel Adejare lost the ticket to ex-Chairman of Orile Agege LCDA, Taofeek Abiodun Adaranijo.

However, others who won their primaries are: Hakeem Abiodun Muniru, Oshodi Isolo Federal Constituency 2; Yakubu Abiodun Balogun, Lagos Island Federal Constituency 2; House of Representatives Minority Leader, Hakeem Gbajabiamila, Surulere Federal Constituency 1; Taiwo Adenekan, Ajeromi Ifelodun Federal Constituency; and James Abiodun Faleke, Ikeja Federal Constituency. They were all retained unopposed.

In Lagos Mainland Federal Constituency, immediate past Chairman of Yaba LCDA, Olajide Jimoh won his primaries.

Femi Gbajabiamila, an incumbent House of Representative member won his bid to represent the party in the coming election. Gbajabiamila scored 247 while 5 votes were voided.

Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=20350

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

african examiner alert

Get new posts by email


News Alert

stories From Archives

Classified Adverts