W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Enugu LGA Polls: Aggrieved PDP Aspirants vow to defect to APC en mass

Ignatius Okpara in Enugu

 …As PDP Primaries end amid Protest

PDPThere are strong indication that scores of aggrieved members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) may soon dump the party for the opposition All Progressives Congress(APC), just as the party’s primaries has ended  amid serious protest.

Among those preparing to embrace the opposition political platform are chairmen and councillorship Aspirants that were allegedly excluded from the PDP primaries held across the state on Saturday ahead of the November 2nd 2013 local government polls.

African Examiner gathered that many of the aggrieved aspirants were forced by the leadership of the party to step down for some anointed consensus candidates after obtaining the nomination forms of  N200, 000 for chairmanship and 50,000 for councilors.

Some of the Aspirants who spoke to our Correspondent under condition of anonymity, said  “what happened during the primaries on Saturday was selection   and not election because most aspirants were warned not to contest against the “anointed candidates”.

They said the sad experience might force most of them to decamp to the APC to challenge the PDP candidates in the council election.

According to the list of the elected candidates for the November 2nd Local Government polls in the state, signed and released by the State PDP Chairman, Engr. Vita Abba and Secretary, Barrister. Steve Oruruo on Sunday evening,  twelve of the incumbent council chairmen were re-elected as the party’s flag-bearers while five new entrants were also given the party ticket.

The release announced the names of the outgoing chairmen that made the list of the party’s candidates seeking re-election for another two-year term to include, Christopher Nwobodo ( Aninri), Mathanus Nze (Awgu), Prince Cornelius Nnaji (Enugu East), Emeka Edeh (Enugu North), Emeka Ozoagu ( Ezeagu), and Festus Ozoemena (Igbo Etiti).
Others are Bonaventure Onuh (Igbo Eze North), Festus Ozioko (Igbo Eze South), Augustine Nnamani (Isi-Uzo), Pastor Sam Iyiogwe (Nkanu East), Ifeanyi Chinedu Iloeje (Udi) and Cornel Onwubuya (Uzo-Uwani).

The new candidates are,  Victor Agbo (Enugu South), Afam Okereke (Nkanu West), Charles Ugwu (Nsukka), Jideofor Onyemechi (Oji River) and Amaechi Nwodo (Udenu).

Abba, urged the candidates, to work hard in order to ensure the party’s victory in the council poll which many parties are also presenting candidates.

Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=1193

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

african examiner alert

Get new posts by email


News Alert

Browse Archives

Classified Adverts