W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

FCT Polls: APC Wins in Bwari As INEC Declares Kuje LGAs Election Inconclusive

ABUJA, NIGERIA – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mr. Musa Dikko of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of Saturday, April 09, 2016 Bwari Area Council election of FCT Abuja.

INEC Returning Officer for the Council’s area, Mr. Abubakar Abba, while declaring the final result Sunday, announced that the winner polled total of 18,066 votes as against his closest rival, Mr. Andrew Gwani of the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who polled total of 13,279 votes.

Mr. Abba indicated that the area Council had a total of 162,786 registered voters, but only 33,162 voters were accredited.

Other results announced by INEC Returning Officer were that of Mr. Wada Abdu of the Action Alliance (AA) who scored 93 votes and Kenneth Olabaniji of Citizens Popular Party (CPP), polled 72 votes.

Dikko supporters after the final declaration jubilated and moved in convoy around some axis such as Action layout, Sabon-road and Kuduru road, within the Council area with the party’s flags.

Kuje Election is Declared Inconclusive

Meanwhile, INEC has declared Kuje Area Council election as inconclusive.

In results announced, out of the ten wards, All Progressive Congress, (APC), won eight, while the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) won in two.

APC polled a total of 13,549 total votes, People’s Democratic Party (PDP), 11, 478 votes and All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) won 5, 516 votes.

The INEC returning officer, Dr. Nicholas Belikatu declared the election inconclusive saying that the results failed to meet some criteria for declaring a winner for the election.

PDP wins in Ife Central, Osun – state 

In a related development, Mr. Dipo Eluwole of the PDP has won the Ife Central State Constituency of Osun, South West Nigeria by-election which held Saturday.

Eluwole recorded a total of 5,504 votes to defeat the first runners up Olusegun Fanibe of the Accord Party (AP), who polled 4,790 and the second runners up, Tilewa Sijuwade of the APC who mustered a total of 4,587 votes.

The exercise extended till Sunday due to cancellation and reschedule of poll in two polling units.

Ife Central State constituency seat has been vacant due to death on December 27, 2015, of the former Minority Leader, Hon. Oladejo Makinde of the PDP.


Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=31715

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

african examiner alert

Get new posts by email

RUSSIA – FIFA 2018 World Cup

(Jun 14, 2018 – Jul 15, 2018)



News Alert

stories From Archives

Classified Adverts