W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

FG Approves 8 New Private Universities

By Ganiyu Nasirudeen

ABUJA, NIGERIA (AFRICAN EXAMINER) – The Federal Government (FG) has approved eight new private universities.

The new higher institutions include: Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos; Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University, Calabar, Cross River; Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia; Coal City University, Enugu; Crown Hill University, Kwara; Dominican University, Oyo; Kola Daisy University, both Ibadan and Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State.

According to Minister of State for Education Mr. Anthony Onwuka, the approval was given Wednesday by President Muhammadu Buhari, at the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

While briefing the State House correspondents after the meeting, the Minister explained that the Federal Ministry of Education submitted a memo seeking approval for new private universities after recommendation by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Mr. Onwuka also informed that the new universities were given three years provisional license, adding that the institutions were expected to be mentored by the existing ones.

He specified that Anchor University would be mentored by the University of Lagos (UNILAG); Jarvis University by the University of Calabar, while University of Agriculture, Umudike would guide Clifford University

Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=36234

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

african examiner alert

Get new posts by email

News Alert

Sponsored Advertisement

FIRST Bank – Food Souk


Sponsored Advertisement

stories From Archives

Classified Adverts