W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Voting Ongoing In Lagos APC Guber Primaries As Tinubu, Others Charge Aspirants

Ayo Balogun, Lagos

Voting is currently ongoing at the All Progressive Congress (APC) Lagos Governorship primaries, with the National leader of th party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu charging the aspirants to accept the outcome of the primaries.

Voting started around 2.20pm (Nigerian Time) and will not end until every delegate has voted and this may drag on to around 9.00pm.

As at 5:41pm (Nigerian Time), only delegates from six, out of the 20 Local Governments of the State have voted. Delegates from Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu, Ibeju-Lekki, Ojo and Agege have voted so far.

Speaking at the event, Tinubu charged all the 12 aspirants to accept the result of the primaries

His speech was read by the Lagos Publicity Secretary of the party, Joe Igbokwe. He said over 6,000 delegates had gathered to choose a governorship candidate among the 12 aspirants, saying the event marked the beginning of the march for democracy.

Tinubu reminded them that only one of them would emerge winner at the end of the day, saying that all of you are qualified but only one of you will win. We must join hands together to ensure the party wins at the general election. The way you conduct yourself will determine how Lagos State presents itself. All of you should comport yourselves and accept the result of the primaries as the choice of the party,” he said, adding that the party had worked tirelessly to make “today possible.”

The former governor said the enemies of the party were waiting to see if the APC would fail, warning the aspirants not to destroy the party.

At the primaries held at the Onikan Stadium, Lagos Island over 6, 000 delegates showed up to cast their votes for the aspirants of their choices. Security at the venue of the event was very tight as over 200 policemen led by the Lagos Commissioner of Police, Kayode Aderanti provided security at the event.

Anti-bomb experts ensured that people were thoroughly screened before allowed access to the stadium for the event.

Governorship aspirants at the venue are Olasupo Shasore, Senator Ganiu Solomon, Dr Leke Pitan, Adeyemi Ikuforiji, Dr Kadri Hamzat, Lanre Ope, Dr Tola Kasali, Abayomi Sutton, Tobun-Agbesanwa, Tokunbo Wahab, Tayo Ayinde and Ambode.

Governor Babatunde Fashola and Asiwaju Bola Tinubu were not at the event. Other APC leaders at the venue are Chief Henry Ajomale, Dr Olorunnimbe Mamora, Olufemi Pedro, Gbenga Ashafa, Abiodun Ogunleye, Alhaji Rafiu Jafojo, Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, Yakub Balogun and several others.

The event started around 1.30pm with opening prayer by both Muslim and Christian clerics.

Earlier, Henry Ajomale, Chairman, APC, Lagos State, charged the aspirants to maintain decorum.

“Only one of you will emerge among 13 of you. You are all respected leaders of the party, but remember that only one of you will emerge. There is no winner, no vanquish, you are from the same family. Whatever result we have today, know that it is not a do or die affair. Let the battle begin,” he said.

Ajomale used the opportunity to debunk claims that he sent text messages to delegates to vote for an aspirant, saying the text messages did not emanate from him.

“I did not send text message or tell anybody to vote for certain aspirant, all the delegates are mine, vote according to your conscience, I denounce that text message openly here,” he said.

Ajomale described the bulk text messages as fraudulent and malicious, saying that he is not associated with the text messages.

He said in the light of the above, he had forfeited his right to vote at the primaries to show that his hands were clean.

Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=20212

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

african examiner alert

Get new posts by email


News Alert

stories From Archives

Classified Adverts