W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

2006 Census: Tribunal Nullifies Census Figures In 14 LGs In Lagos

The National Census Tribunal, sitting in Abuja, Nigeria has
nullified the 2006 censors figure in 14 Local Government Areas
of Lagos and ordered the National Population Commission
(NPC) to conduct fresh recount in the affected areas.

The NPC, had in the 2006 national censors said the population
of Lagos was 9,113,605, a figure that the Lagos State
Government rejected as it said the population of the state was

Various Local Governments in Lagos had contested the figures
allocated to their council by NPC at the tribunal.

The tribunal, delivering its judgment in Abuja said the censors
figures allocated to 14 Local Governments in Lagos were null
and void and should not stand.

This judgment automatically nullified the paltry 9,113,605
figures allocated to Lagos in the 2006 national censors.

At a news conference on Friday at the Government
Secretariat, Ikeja, Lagos, the Lagos Attorney General and
Commissioner for Justice, Ade Ipaye disclosed that the tribunal
delivered its judgment between June 19 and 20, 2013 and
nullified NPC’s figures for some councils in Lagos.

“Following the census exercise conducted by the National
Population Commission nationwide from March 21 to 27, 2006,
and more particularly in the various Local Government Areas
of Lagos State, the results released for some States took
virtually all Nigerians by surprise. For Lagos State, a total
population of 9,113,605 was declared.

“Many informed commentators within and outside the State
considered this figure to be far too low. Most importantly, a
shadow survey carried out by State officials during the exercise
showed that Lagos State should have had a population of at
least 17,553,924. A good number of residents from various
communities within the State protested and, eventually, had
petitions filed on their behalf when the Census Tribunal was
established,” he said.

Ipaye explained that the 2006 census was conducted on the
basis of 2o Local Government Areas as listed in the 1999
Constitution, saying that out of these, massive complaints
came out of 19 Local Government Areas, such as Agege,
Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Bagadry, Epe, Eti-Osa,
Ifelodun, Ifako-Ijaiye, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Kosofe, Lagos Island,
Lagos Mainland, Mushin, Ojo, Oshodi/Isolo, Shomolu and

He said that the Tribunal sat for about 18 months and had
finally passed judgments in all 19 cases, disclosing that in 14 of
these cases, which cover at least 40 of the new Local
Government Councils and Local Council Development Areas,
the Census results were closely considered and declared null
and void.

“The Tribunal, however, dismissed petitions filed on behalf of
residents in five Local Government Councils, such as Shomolu,
Ikorodu, Kosofe, Mushin and Oshodi-Isolo on the ground that
sufficient proof was not presented by the petitioners.

“In the final analysis, the official national census results for 14
old Local Government Councils (now 40 LGAs and LCDAs) in
Lagos State have been nullified. This vindicates the resolve of
the State Government to base its physical and economic plans
on a projected population of 17,553,924 in 2006 and over
21,000,000 currently,” Ipaye stated.

The Attorney General called on the NPC to as a matter of
urgency put machinery in motion to conduct fresh recount in
the affected areas, saying that government might decide to
appeal the judgment of the Tribunal which upheld the figures
for the five councils.

“As at now, we don’t see Lagos having any censors figure as
the tribunal has nullified NPC’s figure for 14 councils. We now
expect that the National Population Commission will urgently
announce plans for a recount as ordered by the Tribunal,” he

In the judgment, the tribunal ordered the NPC to conduct fresh
count in some areas in Amuwo Odofin, such as Festac Town,
Agustin Ajagun Street, Amuwo Odofin GRA, Jakande Estate,
Aguda, Raji Estate and Rasak Street and in Eti-Osa, areas
such as Ribadu Road by Prison Barracks, Residents of
Obalende, residents of all houses in Idunmojokun Street,
Ajeniya Street, Jakande Estate, Olaiya Street, Odo Street, all
residents in office depot Majek First Gate Ajah, Badore, Ajah,
Alagaso road and Awoyaya will have fresh censors.

In Alimosho, the tribunal ordered recount in Ayobo, Egan,
Baruwa, IkotunEgbe, Idimu, IyanaIpaja, Akinugun Bus Stop and
Omotosho Areas and in Lagos Island, recount will be done in
Okesuna Street, Lagos Island, ItaAkanni Sreet,
IdumagboAdenike Street, Lagos Island, Obadina Street,
Bamgbose, Lewis Street, Bamgbose and Campbell Street.

In Lagos Mainland, recount will be conducted in Abule Ijesha,
Adekunle, Akoka, Alagomeji, EbuteMetta, Iwaya, Oko Oba, Otto
and Yaba, while in Surulere, fresh count was ordered in Ibidun
Street, all Residents of Surulere area, Tejuosho, Lawanson,
Ikate and Ijesha Orile.

Also, in Epe, areas, such as Oniyanrin Village, Offirun Village,
Orepele Village, Ilape, Oyetomi and Oluwakemi Village and in
Ifako-Ijaiye, fresh censors is ordered in Abule Egba, Alagbado,
Iju-Ifako, Iju-Ishaga, Iju-Station, Oke Koto, Oko Oba, the
houses in Osola Street, Balogun Bus Stop, Lamina Street and

More so, in Badagry, areas, such as Atande Street, Tozukame
Street, Sowja, Okoroafor and Tako Streets in Badagry,
Siagbon Compound Badagry and Ajaoba Street will be
recounted while in Apapa, areas such as Itugbon Community
opposite Liverpool, Oyedeji Street, Apapa Wharf, Lisabi Street,
Kareen Street, Riverine areas, Esugbayi Street, Marine Beach,
Lawani Close off Qaskiya, Ijora Badia, Okoya Street, Agbabe
Street, Marine Beach and Apapa will be recounted.

As for Ajeromi-Ifelodun, areas such as Ajegunle, Amukoko,
Kirikiri, Olodi-Apapa, Tolu and Ijora areas are for recount while
in Ikeja, areas like Agindinbi,  Airport Area, Alausa, Anifowose,
Ikeja G.R.A., Ojodu, Oke Ira, Omole, Onilekere, Onipetesi,
Opebi, Agbede, Oloti Agbakoba Street and Air Force Base will
be recounted.

Furthermore, in Agege, areas such as Agege Coker Village,
Dopemu, Iju, Ishaga, Mangoro, Ogba, Oke Koto, Oke Oba,
Orile, Agege, Papa Ashafa, and Oguntade Street Oba will be
recounted while recount was also ordered in Ojo, in areas such
as Ijusu Street, Mavbokoro Street, Maibun Street, Agboroko
Street and Isahu Street.

Short URL: https://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=196

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

NDDC Projects Cancellation: Click Below to see full list



Classified Ads

Like us on Facebook

advertise with us