W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

APC Takes Over Imo House Of Assembly As Speaker, 7 Others Dump PDP

From Ignatius Okpara, Owerri

(AFRICAN EXAMINER) – Less than  48 hours that the Imo state chairman of the opposition People’s Democratic party PDP, Chief Charles Ezekwem, defected to the All Progressive Congress, APC, eight members of the state Assembly elected under the party have followed suit, as they dumped the PDP for the ruling party.

The eight PDP lawmakers announced their defection during plenary today, a development that now makes the ruling APC, to take control of the House.

African Examiner reports that 9 PDP members of the 27 house of Assembly, had last week defected to the  APC.

The development followed the recent swearing-in of Governor Hope Uzodinma of the APC who was declared winner of the 2019 gubernatorial election by the Supreme court, after it sacked former governor of the state, Chief Emeka Ihedioha of the PDP.

Below: are names of Tuesday’s defectors;

1. Hon. Chiji Collins
Isiala Mbano State Constituency (Speaker, Imo state house of Assembly).

2. Hon. Dominic Ezerioha
Oru West State Constituency

3. Hon. Chigozie Nwaneri
Oru East State Constituency

4. Hon. Kanayo Onyemechi
Owerri West State Constituency

5.Hon. Kennedy Ibe
Obowo State Constituency

6. Hon. Uche Ogbuagu
Ikeduru State Constituency

7. Hon. Crown Micheal
Ihitte Uboma State Constituency

8. Hon. Eddy Obinna
Aboh Mbaise State Constituency

Short URL: https://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=50575

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Zenith bank



Classified Ads

Like us on Facebook

advertise with us