W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Ihedioha, Tinubu, Ugwuanyi, Obahiagbon Emerge Winners In Guber, NASS Primaries

Ignatius Okpara (Enugu), Ayo Balogun (Lagos), Collins Amadi (Benin)

More results of the Monday ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Governorship and opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries, have been declared as the Chairman, House Committee on Maritime, Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi clinched Enugu party’s gubernatorial ticket, while the wife of former Lagos State Governor, Senator Oluremi Tinubu was re-elected to contest the State central senatorial district.

Hon.Ugwuanyi who is representing Igboeze North/ Udenu Federal constituency of Enugu, victory was evident since last Saturday, when two of the former aspirants, Chief Anayo Onwuegbu and Chinedu Onuh, who are loyalists of the Deputy Senate President, Ike Ewkeremadu, withdrew from the race.

Ugwuanyi, who is supported by the incumbent State Governor Sullivan Chime polled 933 out of the total valid 963 votes cast by the delegates to emerge winner.

AFRICAN EXAMINER gathered that apart from Senator Ayogu Eze, who emerged as winner at a parallel guber primary and Chairman of Peace Mass Transit Company, Evangelist Samuel Onyeishi, all other aspirants attended the primary election held at the Nnamdi Azikiwe stadium Enugu.

The Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Eugene Odoh, recorded only 26 votes. Senator Ayogu Eze’s group had earlier Monday held a parallel primary in a private hotel in Enugu, where he was declared the winner.

The chairman of the governorship primary election panel, His Royal Highness Asara A. Asara, announced Ugwuanyi as the winner of the primary.

In his acceptance speech, Hon. Ugwuanyi stated “the people of Enugu state and God have spoken” promising he would soon address the people of the state via a press statement.

The primary was attended by Governor Chime, Senator Ekweremadu, State’s members of the National Assembly and officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In Lagos, another serving member of the House, Hon. Olamilekan Adeola has been declared the winner of the State’s Western Senatorial district. He defeated among two others, former Minister State for Defence, Mr. Demola Seriki. It would be recalled the incumbent state Deputy Governor, Mrs Adejoke Orelope – Adefulire last Saturday backed out of the same contest.

Former Minister of Information, Labaran Maku failed in his home state, Nasarawa to clinch the governorship ticket, the reason he and six other Ministers resigned from the Federal cabinet recently.

The Chairman, Senate Committee on Health, Ifeanyi Okowa, has been declared Delta State PDP governorship flagbearer. He scored a total of 406 votes, to defeat incumbent Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan’s candidate, Olorogun David Edevbie, who mustered 299 votes to become the first runners-up.

In Imo State, the Deputy Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Emeka Ihedioha, was equally lucky like the Speaker, Rt. Hon Aminu Tambuwal, as he won the State’s governorship ticket. Tambuwal won his State, Sokoto’s ticket last week during his opposition party APC guber nationwide primaries.

The Edo State Governor Chief of Staff, Hon. Patrick Obahiagbon won the State Southern Senatorial district primary of the APC. Obahiagbon was once a member of the ruling PDP and served in the House while still in the fold.


Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=20446

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

african examiner alert

Get new posts by email


News Alert

stories From Archives

Classified Adverts