W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Buhari Seeks Senate’s Confirmation of Magu as EFCC Chairman

Ayodele Afolabi, Abuja

After almost months of putting the communication in abeyance, the senate president, Dr.  Bukola Saraki, on Thursday read a letter from The Presidency seeking the screening and confirmation of Magu Ibrahim Mustapha as executive chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

The letter, dated June 17 and received at the Office of the Senate President on 22nd of same month, was sent to the number three citizen by Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo in his capacity as Acting President when President Muhammadu Buhari was in the United Kingdom on a 10-day medical vacation.

Other members of the commission, which The Presidency sought their screening and confirmation are Ndasule Moses, Lawan Maman, Galandaci Imam Najib and Adeleke Abebayo Rafiu respectively.

The Vice President, in the letter personally signed by him explained that the EFCC Act of 2004 established the commission and makes it responsible among other things for the coordination and enforcement of all Economic and Financial Crime Laws and Enforcement functions conferred on any person or authority.

He stated that “Section 2 (1) of the Act also provides that the Commission shall consists of a chairman who shall be the chief executive and accounting officer of the commission”.

He added that the chairman shall also be a serving or retired member of any government security or law enforcement agency not below the rank of assistant commissioner of police or equivalent, and possess not less than 15 years cognate experience.

“Apart from other ex-officio members of the commission provided for in section 2, the Act also provides for four eminent Nigerians with any cognate experience of the following, that is finance, banking, law and accounting”, the letter reads.
The Presidency also stated that Section 2 (3) further provides that “the chairman and members of his commission other than ex-officio members shall be appointed by the president and the appointment shall be subject to confirmation of the senate”.

It added that Section 3 of the Act provides that the chairman and members of the commission other than the ex-officio members shall hold office for a period of four years and may be reappointed for further term of four years and no more.

“In view of the foregoing, I hereby draw Your Excellency’s attention to the vacancy that existed in the EFCC. Having carefully considered eminently suitable qualified Nigerians for the vacant position. I am pleased to inform you of the appointment of the following and to propose them for confirmation of the Senate as provided by the EFCC Act.

“I hope the screening will as usual be carried out expeditiously by the distinguished senate”, The Presidency requested.

It would be recalled that Presidenct Buhari appointed Magu acting chairman of the EFCC after the removal of his predecessor, Ibrahim Lamorde on November 9, 2015.

If confirmed by the Senate, Magu will be the the fourth chairman of the anti-graft agency, after Nuhu Ribadu, Farida Waziri and Ibrahim Lamorde respectively.


Please follow and like us:

Short URL: http://www.africanexaminer.com/?p=34241

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Follow by Email

Get News Alert

UBA Mobile App:———————————————-

Browse Archives

Classified Adverts